This option on the Company screen, Options tab, has a drop down with three options:
When set to "Allow", you will be able to Calibrate Items regardless if the Item is Approved or not.
When set to "Warn", you will be able to Calibrate Items with or without the Approval box checked, but you will receive the following warning:
When set to "Restrict", you will not be able to enter a Calibration record if the item is not Approved and you will receive the following message:
When downloading records that will be calibrated on a Documenting Calibrator, you will get the following message below when the Company option is set to either "Warn" or "Restrict".
You will be able to Download an Unapproved record to the Calibrator but you will not be able to Upload the result if the record is still Unapproved. See Below:
If the Company option is set to "Warn" then you will be warned again on the "Authorize Calibration Record" screen. See below: