Locations will need to be added to provide further description for Assets. For Starter Edition, locations have two (2) tiers; a Location followed by a Sub-Location.
- Adding Locations starts with navigating to the Settings option and selecting the Configuration option.
- The Location area will default to being closed, when selecting the line that says "Locations", an additional button appears, "Add Location"
When selecting the Add Location button an additional Add New Location screen appears. This is where you will enter the Location Name, the name can be a maximum of 255 characters and can consist of numbers, letters and special characters.
After entering your data click OK or hit Enter to save, or click Cancel to cancel the addition.
- Once you have entered the Location name, click the OK button which will show the newly added Location as well as an "Edit icon" and a "Delete icon", and an additional button to Add Sub-Locations.
- Below is the example of the "Edit and Delete icon".
When selecting the Add Sub-Location button an additional Add New Sub-Location screen appears. This is where you will enter the Sub-Location Name, the name can be a maximum of 255 characters and can consist of numbers, letters and special characters.
- Once you have entered the Sub-Location name, click the OK button. This will show the newly added Sub-Location as well as an "Edit icon" and a "Delete icon", this all falls under the original Location that was added.
- Selecting the Cancel button takes you back to the Location page.
- You cannot add a Sub-Location without adding a Location first.
- By clicking on the Location name, the list of associated Sub-Locations will appear; only one Location will be open at a time.
- To Edit a Location or Sub-Location, you simply need to click the "Edit icon" next to the Location or Sub-Location that you would like to Edit. Once selected, the field becomes an editable text field.
- To Save the Edit of a Location or Sub-Location, all you must do is "click" outside of the text field or the green check mark; both will successfully save the Edit.
- To Delete a Location or Sub-Location, you will just click the "Delete" icon next to the Location or Sub-Location you would like to Delete. Upon selecting the Delete option, a confirmation message appears, stating the name of the Location or Sub-Location that was deleted.
- You will not be able to Delete a Location if you have assigned the Location to an Asset. To Delete a Location that previously has been assigned to an Asset, you will need remove the Location or assign another Location to the Asset; once you have removed the Location from the Asset, you will be able to Delete the Location from PCX.